Sk Russel back in winning way

Sports Desk

The former champions Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd defeated Chattogram Abahoni Ltd by 2-1 goals in their away match of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League round 13, powered by Bashundhara Group at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Stadium in Cumilla on Saturday.

Nigerian forward Ismaheel Akinade and Kyrgyzs forward Aizar Akmatov scored one goal each for the touring side in the 32nd and 49th minutes of the game while forward Sakhawat Hosen netted the lone goal for the hosts in the injury time (90+5) minute.

Ismaheel, who has experience in playing in Irish and Vietnamese leagues, opened his account with a goal in his debut match for Sheikh Russel in BPL.
Sheikh Russel’s both scorers Ismaheel and Aizar missed their previous match against Mohammedan Sporting Club which ended in a 1-1 draw at their home venue Bashundhara Sports Complex last week.

“Everything of today’s game was as per the plan except the last-minute goal of Ctg Abahoni. Ismaheel, Charles, Akmatov all played well. Gadze is trying, he needs some more time to adjust to the Bangladeshi environment,” Sheikh Russel’s interim coach Zulfiker Mahmud Mintu told the media in his immediate reaction after the day’s victory.

Sheikh Russel tasted two victories under the interim coach Mintu. They earlier beat the newcomers Swadhinata Krira Sangha by 2-1 goals in the BPL first phase at the Bashundhara Kings Arena of Bashundhara Sports Complex earlier in April.

Despite having the win, Sheikh Russel remained at the eighth spot in the points table with 14 points from three wins, five draws and five defeats while Ctg Abahoni remained at the fourth position with their previous credit of 22 points from six wins, four draws and three defeats.

Sheikh Russel earlier played a 1-1 draw against the Chattogram-based outfit in their first-leg match at the centralised venue at the Shahid Ahsan Ullah Master Stadium in Tongi in February.

With the day’s feat, the former champions remained unbeaten to Ctg Abahoni in the ongoing double-leg BPL.
Sheikh Russel started to press the hosts with attacking football from the beginning of the match. Their forward line comprising Gadze, Charles, Hemonto, Jewel and Ismaheel put full pressure on Ctg Abahoni defence, though they didn’t get any fruitful result.

The former champions broke the deadlock in the 32nd minute when Ismaheel perfectly placed the ball into the net with a right-footer, off a pass from defender Md Khalekuzzaman (1-0).

The hosts also created some close chances from counter-attack but all of their efforts went in vain by Sheikh Russel defenders.

However, the hosts got another blow after half time of the game when Sheikh Russel were awarded a penalty due to handball by Ctg Abahoni defender Soeb Miah inside the box.

Aizar, who returned to the squad after a one-match ban due to the card issues, seized the chance and converted the spot kick correctly in the 49th minute (2-0).

Sheikh Russel defenders successfully kept Ctg Abahoni strikers including the BPL top scorer Nigerian forward Ebimobowei Thankgod at bay until the forward Sakhawat Hosen reduced the gap with a long-range shot nearer the box in the added time (2-1).

In the day’s other match, Dhaka Abahani Ltd also beat Bangladesh Police Football Club by 2-1 goals at the Sylhet District Stadium.

Abahani’s Jewel Rana scored twice in the 22nd and 68th minutes while forward Md Al Amin netted one for Police in the 18th minute of the game.

Meanwhile, Saif Sporting Club beat Rahamatganj Muslim Friends Society by 4-2 goals in the third match of the day at the Bir Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj.

Saif’s Nigerian forward Emeka Ogbugh scored a brace in the 8th and 79th minutes while his compatriot Mfon Udoh and Rwandan defender Emery Bayisenge added one each in the 4th and 58th minutes.

Rahamatganj’s midfielders Enamul Islam and Khondoker Ashraful Islam scored one each in the 63rd and 76th minutes.

The BPL round 13 will end with the match between Mohammedan Sporting Club and Swadhinata Krira Sangha today in Cumilla at 3:30pm.

The round 14 will begin after the Eid vacation with the match between the champions Bashundhara Kings and Muktijoddha SKC on May 7.

Bangladesh Football Federation shifted the match to the Bir Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj from Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj due to traffic issues.

প্রকাশ :  April 30, 2022 11:58 pm