Wednesday , 20 October 2021
Breaking News

BB to pay tribute to two eminent economists tomorrow
With conferring Bangladesh Bank Award 2013, the central bank at a programme Wednesday is paying its highest tribute to two eminent economists for their lifetime and distinct contribution to the economy and the development of the country.

The central bank is arranging the august event at its training centre at Mirpur in the city to confer its top award on Professor Dr Muzaffer Ahmad and Dr Swadesh Ranjan Bose (posthumous).

“The award has been conferred on Professor Dr Muzaffer Ahmad and on Dr Swadesh Ranjan Bose for their distinctive contribution to the development economy,” a BB statement said today.

Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith will be present at the award giving ceremony as the chief guest. Chairman of Palli Karam Shahayak Foundation (PKSF) Dr Qazi Koliquzzaman Ahmed, Director General of Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM) Dr Toufic Ahmed Chowdhury, Director General of Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS) Dr Mustafa Kamal Mujeri and family members of the two late economists will speak on the occasion. BB Governor Dr Atiur Rahman will chair the event. A gold medal, Taka one lakh in cash and a BB crest will be handed over to each of the heir of the awarded economists.

A five-member jury board of prominent economists of the country led by the BB governor jointly nominated these two prominent economists for the Award.

Professor Dr Muzaffer Ahmad was an economist best known for his diverse researches on industry, education, international economics, public enterprises, human rights, health economics, labour relations, good governance, rural development and poverty reduction and environmental issues. He was also awarded the Ekushey Padak in 2008. Dr Ahmed died in 2012.

Dr Swadesh Ranjan Bose contributed to reshaping the economy of the war-torn Bangladesh. Throughout his life-time, he studied on reducing financial and social disparity for achieving economic emancipation of the people of the newly independent country. Bangladesh Economic Association (BEA) in 2010 awarded him the gold medal (posthumously). He was also awarded the Independence Day Award in 2013 (posthumously). Dr Bose died in 2009.

Introduced in 2000, Bangladesh Bank Award was conferred on Professor Rehman Sobhan in 2000, Dr Nurul Islam in 2009 and Professor Dr Mosharaff Hossain in 2011.

Print Friendly

Comments are closed.